Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Salem Celebrates Student-Athletes at 2016-17 Athletic Banquet

Winston-Salem, NC-The Salem College Athletic Department celebrated their 2016-2017 seasons at their end of the year banquet. Salem finished in the top half (8th place) in the USA South President's Cup standings (16 programs) in their first year in the conference.

Director of Athletics Melissa Barrett presented the Anne Woodward Student-Athlete of the Year to Brooke Bukas (soccer). The Jess Byrd Award given to a senior was awarded to Lauryn Smith (softball) . The Nan Tilley Athletic Department Service Award was presented to Jenna Van Horn (softball). 

Below is a list of the USA South, All-State, and All-Region awards celebrated:


Second Team USA South West Division: Mikayla Seivers and Sabrina Shepherd

North Carolina All-State:

Second Team: Sabrina Shepherd 

USA South All-Sportsmanship: Alexiahonna Bush

Cross Country

USA South Honorable Mention All-Conference: Janine Bardell

All Sportsmanship Team: Meghan Menard


USA South Player of the Year: Brooke Bukas

NSCAA All South Region:

Second Team: Brooke Bukas

Third Team: Morgan Canepa

North Carolina All-State:

First Team: Sydney Priest and Brooke Bukas

Second Team: Jordan Lanier

USA South All-Conference First Team:  Brooke Bukas

USA South All Tournament Team: Martha Santos, Jordan Lanier, Kylie Dillow, Sydney Priest

USA South West Division First Team: Brooke Bukas
USA South West Division Second Team: Jordan Lanier, Hannah Huskey, Morgan Canepa

USA South All-Sportsmanship: Jasmine Romero-Mendieta


USA South Rookie Pitcher of the Year: Sydney Vaughn

USA South First Team All-Conference: Sydney Vaughn

USA South West Division First Team:  Briana Crumley, Jennifer Vitarelli, Brianna Morris,

Sydney Vaughn, Hannah Ogle

USA South West Division Second Team: Lauryn Smith and Breanna Hermann

USA South All-Sportsmanship: Katie Bilbrey


USA South All-Sportsmanship:  Lindsay Young


USA South West Division Second Team:  Taylor Moulton and Kylie Taffer

USA South All-Sportsmanship: Ashlen Rector