Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

James is First Spirit Ever to Make All-Conference Lacrosse

2019 USA South Women's Lacrosse All-Conference
2019 USA South Women's Lacrosse All-Conference

When a school has been around for nearly 250 years, it's sometimes difficult to earn the designation, of "first-ever." But that's exactly what Cara James did.

James, a sophomore from Allen, Texas was named All-Conference Second Team Defense for women's lacrosse.

Meredith College's Holly Hite was named Player of the Year while her coach, Lauren Scott took home Coach of the Year honors. William Peace University's Dana Florian was named Rookie of the Year to round out the individual honors. Finally, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

All honors were determined by votes from the women's lacrosse coach at each institution.


The 2019 USA South Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Team:

First Team Second Team Third Team
Julie Capretti, Meredith
Lilia Cruz, Meredith
Elizabeth Peasley, Averett

Dana Florian, William Peace
Holly Hite, Meredith
Rylie Toomey, William Peace

Sarah Arbes, Meredith
Kaitlyn Barbour, Averett
Startraya Galloway, Pfeiffer
Sam Short, Methodist

Joy Deitrich, Meredith
Sam Hanlon, Pfeiffer
Hannah Mae Ayers, Averett
Rowan Bumpass, Piedmont
Sarah Ewin, Methodist
Olivia Higgs, Meredith

Ali Cucinotta, N.C. Wesleyan
Cassidy Heflin, Piedmont
Monti Hendrix, Methodist
Henley Peatross, Meredith

Daji Harper, Pfeiffer
Cara James, Salem
Shania Springer, William Peace

Mattie Keaton, Piedmont
Maya Flake, Meredith
Grace Look, N.C. Wesleyan
Kara Whitson, Greensboro

Olivia Blake, Meredith
Meagan Bourque, Pfeiffer
Alixis Roccia, Averett
Allison Schaper, William Peace

Erin Aylward, Piedmont
Sarah Gilbrook, LaGrange
Ansley Harris, Meredith
Anna Watson, Piedmont

Haley Whitfield, Meredith
  Hailey Chandler, Averett
Katherine Collins, Brevard
Morgan Montgomery, Greensboro
Savannah Ryan, Huntingdon
Brie Shepler, LaGrange
Henley Peatross, Meredith
Ally Nagel, Methodist
Alissa Avery, N.C. Wesleyan
Kaley Hyatt, Pfeiffer
Mattie Keaton, Piedmont
Logan Bowling, Salem
Hannah Slone, William Peace