Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Long and Softball Honored by USA South

Long and Softball Honored by USA South

Release Link: sball/2017-18/releases/ 20180330le04oz

The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2018 All-Conference awards for softball. The Maryville College trio of Morgan Brewer, Taylor Campbell and Katlyn Smith were named Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Rookie Pitcher of the Year, respectively. Piedmont College's Melissa Eckman earned Pitcher of the Year while Salem College's Scott Long was named Coach of the Year to round out the individual awards. Also, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

All awards are voted on by the softball coach at each institution. The divisional team voting is completed only by those coaches in the particular division. The first team all-conference and individual award voting is completed by all coaches.

Jennifer Vitarelli and Miranda Barker were selected to USA South First Team All-Conference. Vitarelli was joined by Amanda Dacunto on First Team East Division. Miranda Barker was selected to the First Team East Division as both a utility player and a pitcher. Brittany Morton was selected to the USA South All-Sportsmanship team.


In his sixth season at Salem, Long collects his first USA South Coach of the Year honor. Long has guided the Spirits to a 21-15 overall record which included a 12-4 USA South mark, good for the Conference East Division championship, the program's second consecutive regular season title. In the USA South Preseason Coaches Poll, Salem was picked to finish fourth in the division. Long now takes his squad into the USA South tournament as the East Division's top-seeded team.


Player of the Year

Pitcher of the Year

Rookie of the Year

Rookie Pitcher of the Year

Coach of the Year  
Morgan Brewer
Melissa Eckman
Taylor Campbell
Katlyn Smith
Scott Long

The 2018 USA South Softball All-Conference Team:

First Team All-Conference
1B - Hannah Hoban, Piedmont
2B - Taylor Campbell, Maryville
3B - Morgan Brewer, Maryville
SS - Jennifer Vitarelli, Salem
C - Shannon Schmitt, Covenant
DP - Jessica Bagwell, Piedmont
Util - Miranda Barker, Salem
OF - Ashton Hayden, Maryville
OF - Mariann Kennison, Piedmont
OF - Erica Occena, Meredith
P - Melissa Eckman, Piedmont
P - Katlyn Smith, Maryville


First Team East Division

Second Team East Division

First Team West Division

Second Team West Division

1B - Julia Allsbrook, Meredith
2B - Cheyenne Strickland, Ferrum
3B - Amanda Dacunto, Salem
SS - Jennifer Vitarelli, Salem
C - Rachel Peel, Meredith
DP - Alexa Nemeth, William Peace
Util - Miranda Barker, Salem
OF - Kaitlyn Checkan, N.C. Wesleyan
OF - Searria Fisher, Methodist
OF - Erica Occena, Meredith
P - Miranda Barker, Salem
P - Beth Braswell, N.C. Wesleyan

1B - Cassie Collins, Greensboro
2B - Ashley Carbajal, Averett
3B - Brittany Bucklin, Meredith
SS - Kelsey Mabe, Meredith
C - Tori Scott, Ferrum
DP - Andrea Grant, Averett
Util - Kristina Mojica, William Peace
OF - Maria Annunziata, Meredith
OF - Sarah Watson, Meredith
OF - Jasmine Worthy, Greensboro
P - Taylor Jackson, Meredith
P - Courtney Rudd, Ferrum

1B - Hannah Hoban, Piedmont
2B - Taylor Campbell, Maryville
3B - Morgan Brewer, Maryville
SS - Alyssa Singleterry, Huntingdon
C - Shannon Schmitt, Covenant
DP - Jessica Bagwell, Piedmont
Util - Emily Barrs, LaGrange
OF - Ashton Hayden, Maryville 
OF - Mariann Kennison, Piedmont
OF - Essence Strambler, Maryville
P - Melissa Eckman, Piedmont
P - Katlyn Smith, Maryville

1B - Taylor Tallant, LaGrange
2B - Allyson Gentry, Piedmont
3B - McKenzie Ridgway, Huntingdon
SS - Jada Allmon, Covenant
C - Cecilia Siegel, Agnes Scott
DP - Sarah Gordon, Maryville
Util - Tiara White, Agnes Scott
OF - McKenzie Brunel, LaGrange
OF - Rayne Ellis, Huntingdon
OF - Christina White, Maryville 
P - Nicole Blackburn, Maryville
P - Madison Hunt, Huntingdon


Kayla Quesenberry, Agnes Scott
Amanda Wright, Averett
Abby Nash, Berea
Ricki Kuhn, Brevard
Hannah Talley, Covenant
Haley Blaisure, Ferrum
Kelsey Emrich, Greensboro
Claire Tomberlin, Huntingdon
Emily Cauldwell, LaGrange
Kate Dickinson, Mary Baldwin
Taylor Campbell, Maryville
Brittany Bucklin, Meredith
Savannah Dunn, Methodist
Ashlyn Gosnell, N.C. Wesleyan
Bailey Sherrill, Pfeiffer
Haley McCurry, Piedmont
Brittany Morton, Salem
Savanna Boyette, Wesleyan
Amanda Ludlum, William Peace