Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Shepherd and Seivers selected to All-USA South West Division

Shepherd and Seivers selected to All-USA South West Division

Release Link:

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2016-17 All-Conference awards for women's basketball. Ferrum College's Zarkia Mattox was named the Player of the Year while her coach Bryan Harvey earned Coach of the Year honors. Agnes Scott College's Garis Grant collected Rookie of the Year accolades to conclude the individual honors. Also, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team consisting of one member from each competing school.

Sabrina Shepherd and Mikayla Seivers were both selected to the USA South West Division Second Team. Shepherd is currently second in the entire conference with 19.6 points per game. Seivers is fourth in the conference with 16.6 points per game, and she leads the conference with 5.6 assists per game. Alexiahonna Bush was selected to the USA South All-Sportsmanship team.

All awards are voted on by the women's basketball coach at each institution. The divisional team voting is completed only by those coaches in the particular division. The first team all-conference and individual award voting is completed by all coaches.


Player of the Year

Rookie of the Year

Coach of the Year

Zarkia Mattox

Garis Grant
Agnes Scott

Bryan Harvey


The 2016-17 USA South Women's Basketball All-Conference Team:


First Team All-Conference

Lauren Biliter, Maryville
Samm Chandler, Averett
Allyson Freiermuth, Maryville
Juliette Harp, Huntingdon
Zarkia Mattox, Ferrum


First Team East Division

Second Team East Division

First Team West Division

Second Team West Division

Samm Chandler, Averett
Nadine Ealey, William Peace
Jessi Hayes, Meredith
Zarkia Mattox, Ferrum
Christian Sanders, Methodist

Frida Lundquist, Averett
Tyler Mercer, William Peace
Kechae Parker, N.C. Wesleyan
Makayla Ray, William Peace
Timyra Staton, N.C. Wesleyan

Brianna Barrett, Piedmont
Lauren Biliter, Maryville
Allyson Freiermuth, Maryville 
Garis Grant, Agnes Scott
Juliette Harp, Huntingdon

Rachel Hawn, Maryville
Mikayla Seivers, Salem
Sabrina Shepherd, Salem
Joanna Smith, Covenant
Haley Talbott, Maryville 



Anna Weimerskirch, Agnes Scott
Jonna Koski, Averett
Alex Quimby, Covenant
Taylor Atkinson, Ferrum
Kylee Barry, Greensboro
Mackenzie Garmany, Huntingdon
Jeris Johnson, LaGrange
Nicole Blackburn, Mary Baldwin
Lecretia Robbins, Maryville
Maddie Gladwell, Meredith
Allison Dones, Methodist
Timyra Staton, N.C. Wesleyan
Erin Clifford, Piedmont
Alexiahonna Bush, Salem
Alexis Russell, Wesleyan
Susannah Sykes, William Peace