Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Shepherd, Seivers, and Johnson Honored With USA South Awards

Shepherd, Seivers, and Johnson Honored With USA South Awards

Release Link: wbkb/2017-18/releases/ 20180129nblgo6

The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2017-18 All-Conference awards for women's basketball. Ferrum College's Zarkia Mattox was named the Player of the Year. Meredith College's Kimberly Schuh collected Rookie of the Year accolades while Berea College's Trent Milby earned Coach of the Year honors to conclude the individual awards. Also, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team consisting of one member from each competing school.

Sabrina Shepherd from Salem was selected to the USA South East Division First Team. Shepherd became the all-time leading scorer for the Spirits as she finished her career with 1,493 points. Mikayla Seivers was selected to the USA South East Division Second Team. This season, Seivers became just the fifth player in Salem history to score 1,000 career points. Tarryn Johnson was selected to the USA South All-Sportsmanship team. 

All awards are voted on by the women's basketball coach at each institution. The divisional team voting is completed only by those coaches in the particular division. The first team all-conference and individual award voting is completed by all coaches. The awards will be presented to individuals from teams competing in the semifinals of the USA South Women's Basketball tournament immediately following the conclusion of the first semifinal contest.



The 2017-18 USA South Women's Basketball All-Conference Team:


First Team All-Conference

Samm Chandler, Averett
Zarkia Mattox, Ferrum
Juliette Harp, Huntingdon
Mikayla Ray, William Peace
Adriana Williams, Berea


First Team East Division

Second Team East Division

First Team West Division

Second Team West Division

Samm Chandler, Averett
Katie Lewis, Greensboro
Zarkia Mattox, Ferrum
Mikayla Ray, William Peace
Sabrina Shepherd, Salem

Amani Ajayi, Averett
Erin March, Ferrum
KeChae Parker, N.C. Wesleyan
Kimberly Schuh, Meredith
MiKayla Seivers, Salem

Garis Grant, Agnes Scott
Juliette Harp, Huntingdon
Rachel Hawn, Maryville
Bri Lanham, Berea
Adriana Williams, Berea

Kaley Hallmark, Covenant
Lauren Johnson, LaGrange
Madison Maples, Maryville 
Amari Price, Piedmont
Carlie Shields, Piedmont


Annie Weimerskirch, Agnes Scott
Hailey Chandler, Averett
Zacchea Small, Berea
Annalee Bollinger, Brevard
Morgan Douglass, Covenant
Jessie O'Conner, Ferrum
Kylee Barry, Greensboro
Sidney Ison, Huntingdon
Austin Richardson, LaGrange
Cauy Duboise, Mary Baldwin
Kelley Wandell, Maryville
Janah Hassell, Meredith
Kadie Snipes, Methodist
Daijah Davis, N.C. Wesleyan
Kaylee O'Dwyer, Pfeiffer
Bridgette Kelly, Piedmont
Tarryn Johnson, Salem
Alexis Russell, Wesleyan
Dejah Cheatham, William Peace